04th Feb2018

The 38th London Film Critics’ Circle Film Awards Ceremony (Film)

by timbaros

_DSC9381The 38th London Film Critics’ Circle Awards, held on Sunday January 28th, 2018 at the Mayfair Hotel, was a glittering and glamorous affair where the Critics’ Circle gave out their awards to stars of all ages, and most were on hand to receive them.

‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri’ was the big winner on the night, taking the coveted Film of the Year, along with Best Screenplay and lead Frances McDormand won Best Actress, however she was not in attendance.

Hugh Grant, winner of Best Supporting Actor for ‘Paddington 2’ was comedic in his approach on accepting his award; ‘First there was Brexit, and then Trump, and now this’ he wryly commented.
Lesley Manville was also there to accept her Best Supporting Actress awards for ‘Phantom Thread.’ But the nights’ biggest, and most important speech, was given by Kate Winslet, who was presented, by Jude Law, with the Dilys Powell Award, the Critics’ Circle highest career-achievement honor.

Here is full list of winners:

Film of the Year: “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Director of the Year: Sean Baker, “The Florida Project”

Actress of the Year: Frances McDormand, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Actor of the Year: Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me By Your Name”

Supporting Actress of the Year: Lesley Manville, “Phantom Thread”

Supporting Actor of the Year: Hugh Grant, “Paddington 2”
Screenwriter of the Year: Martin McDonagh, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Foreign Language Film of the Year: “Elle”

Documentary of the Year: “I Am Not Your Negro”

Technical Achievement of the Year: Dennis Gassner, production design, “Blade Runner 2049”

British/Irish Film of the Year: “Dunkirk”

British/Irish Actress of the Year: Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water,” “Maudie” and “Paddington 2”

British/Irish Actor of the Year: Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”

Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker of the Year: Francis Lee, “God’s Own Country”

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year: Harris Dickinson, “Beach Rats”

British/Irish Short Film of the Year: “We Love Moses,” Dionne Edwards

Dilys Powell Award: Kate Winslet

Photo of Timothy Chamalet and Armie Hammer by Paul Winstone